Reconstituted Special Education Funding Commission to Review Current Special Education Funding Formula

WHAT: The Reconstituted Special Education Funding Commission, established under Act 16 of 2019 and led by Senate Majority Appropriations Chairman Pat Browne (R-Lehigh), House Majority Education Chairman Curtis Sonney (R-Erie) and Education Secretary Noe Ortega, will meet to review the current formula that determines special education payments to school districts in Pennsylvania.

An original 15-member commission was created by Act 3 of 2013 and tasked with developing a new formula for distributing state funding to Pennsylvania school districts for special education. The current special education funding formula was enacted and took effect for the 2014-15 fiscal year. The formula directs dollars to school districts that have the greatest need for additional resources based upon the cost of each special education student.

WHO: Browne, Sonney, Ortega and members of the reconstituted Special Education Funding Commission.

WHEN: Wednesday, Dec. 15 at 10 a.m.

WHERE:   140 Main Capitol Building (House Majority Caucus Room)

                   State Capitol, Harrisburg.

Barring any unforeseen technical difficulties, the hearing will stream live at and


Matt Moyer (Senator Browne) – 717-787-1349

Tracy Polovick (Rep. Sonney) – 717-260-6358